Cnr St John Street and William Street.
In 1830, under “New Licenses Granted”:
Alexander Wales, Commercial Tavern, Saint John’s-street
TO COMMERCIAL GENTLEMAN, NEWLY ARRIVED EMIGRANTS, TRAVELLING FAMILIES, AND THE PUBLIC IN GENERAL.
Mr. GEORGE DODERY, formerly Proprietor of the Canning Tavern, at Sydney, and subsequently conductor of the “King’s Arms,” in Launceston, takes leave, in respectfully thanking a generous community for the patronage already shown him, to announce that he has entered into possession of those most eligibly situated, conveniently arranged, and extensive Premises, known as THE COMMERCIAL TAVERN, at the Wharf, which he, at a very considerable expense has earnestly endeavored to fit and improve so as to afford all possible accommodation. Mr. Dodery will be found at all times solicitous to make his House a Home for every becoming Guest, however humble. Boarders will be received on the lowest terms compatible with the expense of a good Table, and with the principle of economy. The premises comprise seven Travellers’ Chambers, a Billiard Room, Two excellent Parlors, the accommodation of a small but Select Library, in conjunction with all the papers published in this Colony, and at Sydney ; and an uniform desire on the parts of him self, his wife, his son, and the servants, to be come patronised by deserving patronage.
The Shades, which are attached to the “The Commercial Tavern,” are well known by the Jolly Sons of Neptune, whose continued support is, with gratitude for past favors, hereby entreated.
Merchants, or others, having occasion to meet in a retired room, for the arrangement of business, will experience at Mr. Dodery’s, every attention.
N. B. The Billiard Room will be opened for the accommodation of the Public, on the 2nd proximo.
Launceston Advertiser, 15 November 1832